OVERVIEW - Why Otorhinolaryngology (ENT) Department at RLJH?

Department of Otorhinolaryngology (ENT) had a humble beginning in 1988-89 with basic infrastructure to treat ENT diseases and to train just 100 under graduate students. It progressed rapidly to excel in patient care and teaching and learning. The undergraduate students were performed well in university assessments. The department started postgraduate courses-Diploma in Otolaryngology (DLO) and MS Otorhinolaryngology in 1997 and has performed well by training Diploma and MS students with two gold medals in RGUHS and five gold medals in SDUAHER. The department steadily expanded its clinical frontiers and has excelled in performing major head and neck and reconstructive surgeries, delicate and precise micro surgeries and endoscopic surgeries in Ear, Nose and Throat and Endoscopic Skull base surgeries and treating airway emergencies in adults and children since January 1997. The department takes pride in being the first department in our state to have started Fellowship in Head and Neck Oncosurgery in November 2009 for ENT Surgeons and General Surgeons and has trained Fellows who have excelled in the field. The department further went on to start Fellowship in Oral Oncosurgery for Maxillofacial Surgeons in 2017. The department has been providing expert quality care in advanced Otorhinolaryngology disorders and Head and Neck Cancers and malformations under Government insurance schemes and at concessional and easily affordable cost for poor patients who do not come under insurance schemes in this rural area and adjoining districts of neighboring states. The department is recognized all over the country as on one of the best Otolaryngology department in a medical college performing head and neck cancer surgeries.


“To be one of the best academic centers of Otorhinolaryngology and Head & Neck Surgery which imparts best available knowledge and surgical training in the field”


“To improve the overall health of the population through world-class excellence”

Facilities and Services
  • OPD equipped for Diagnostic nasal endoscopy and video laryngoscopy with Karl Storz Telecam Camera system, Karl Storz twin Halogen light source and 42inch HD display monitor
  • OPD equipped with Pentax Flexible Bronchoscope with Light source
  • OPD equipped with 2 Optofine Operating microscope (Opto SM 1) for Otomicroscopy
  • OPD equipped with Rod Telescopes ( 0deg, 30deg, 70deg) for Diagnostic nasal endoscopy and Video laryngoscopy
  • OPD equipped with 2 ENT OPD units- one advanced model and one basic model
  • OT equipped with 1 ZIESS operating microscope
  • OT equipped with Karl Storz nasal telescopes and Stryker HD camera console
  • OT equipped with Stryker Microdebrider console
  • Microlaryngeal surgery set of instruments
  • Ventilating bronchoscopes and esophagoscopes- Adult and pediatric with accessory instruments for diagnostic and therapeutic purposes
  • All other routine OT and OPD instruments including unipolar and bipolar cautery
  • Head and Neck Oncology Tumor board-Every Fridays at 11am
  • Congenital Malformations- Every Wednesdays
  • Headache clinic- Every Mondays
  • Vertigo clinic- Every Tuesdays
  • Management of ankle & foot injuries and deformities
  • Deafness Clinic- Every Thursdays
Demonstration of Examination of the patient to post graduates
Dissection demonstration
Ear Surgery under
Micro laryngeal surgery
Neck Dissection with Pectoralis Major Myocutaneous Flap
Performing Endoscopic examination of the Ear
Performing stapedotomy with endoscope
Performing tonsillectomy
Swallowing rehabilitation
Sl No Name Designation
1. Dr. K C Prasad Professor and Head of the Department
2. Dr. Harshita T R Assistant Professor
3. Dr. Indu Varsha G Senior Resident
4. Dr. Anjali P K Senior Resident
5. Dr. Harshitha N Senior Resident
6. Dr. Brindha H S Senior Resident
Sl No Name Designation
1. Dr. S M Azeem Mohiyuddin Professor and Head of the Unit
2. Dr. Sagayaraj A Associate Professor
3. Dr. Kouser Mohammadi Assistant Professor
4. Dr. Prashanth Babu A Assistant Professor
5. Dr. Balan Ashok Kumar Senior Resident
6. Dr. Shreeharsha Maruwala Senior Resident
7. Dr. Swapanthi M B Senior Resident